Living in Vienna: Our First Month


They say time flies when you’re having a good time. Given the fact that we’ve already been here for well over a month, I’d say that statement is very true.

Here’s the story of our first 30 days living in Austria.

In the photo below we’re just minutes off the plane coming from upstate New York. Tired? We probably look like it, but I honestly had a million butterflies fluttering in my stomach with excitement. I mean, how often do you get to say: “I live in Vienna” ?!?!

airport

Our first meal was from a restaurant we missed all summer… VAPIANOS! Their tagliatelle carbonara is to die for.

Calories? Yes. Carbs? Absolutely. Fat? Duh.

Did I care? Not that day.

photo-14

It was early in the season, so the rest of the girls were back home… Except for one, Danielle or “The Queen of Vienna” as a lady from our Expat Hockey Wives Facebook page introduced me to her. This gem of a French-Canadian woman took me in, toured me around town, and made me feel right at home.

Here we are in front of the Rathaus during their Film Festival where we enjoyed yummy Indian food and strolled around Stephansplatz’ fancy designer shops.

photo-16

A couple weeks later, the rest of the female Capitals arrived.

I’m not going to lie… Despite the fact that Danielle had told me they were wonderful, the anticipation of meeting them was a little daunting. I mean, I knew they loved Danielle (who doesn’t), but I wasn’t sure if they’d like me.

But in all honesty, the moment I met them, I knew I was in for a special season. Every one of them has a distinct characteristic that makes them so unique, which in turn, makes our little group that much more special.

I’ve met a few other ladies, but haven’t had the chance to get to know them better unfortunately. But from what little I’ve seen, they seem just as awesome.

Their men clearly have exceptional taste… And I think the guy in the back agrees.

photo 2-2

Let me introduce you. Starting from far left to right…

Brooke: The beauty expert. This Canadian bombshell loves to shop, has good taste in fashion and is always up for an adventure. She likes Bailey’s and coffee as much as I do, and I know I can count on her to party until the very end! She can also rock a handstand, which is just awesome. 

Lauren: Funny, free-spirited and socially awkward. If you meet her for the first time, you will get an uncomfortable hug. And yes, it will be awkward and uncoordinated, but you will soon find yourself wanting another one. I also recently learned she has ghetto and nerdy in her system, which is more reason to love this one. 

Danielle: Warm, outgoing and loving. She’s the mama bear with the pregnant glow, the caring leader of the pack and a twin! But don’t let her innocent smile or baby bump fool you, she can easily keep up on a girl’s night out while getting the occasional whiff of your drink! I look forward to meeting post-preggos Danielle. I have a feeling I’ll be in for a great time. 

Samantha: The classic beauty. She’s laid back, easy going, and gives off a “relaxed personae.” She brought the fun to one of our gatherings with a drinking game I can’t wait to play again. She also has the nicest hair I’ve laid eyes on. Her secret? Coconut oil. My goal is to have my locks as luscious as hers by the end of this season. Stay tuned, people.

Britt: Sweet, feminine and witty. This one also happens to have gorgeous locks (seriously, it’s that coconut oil). She seems quiet and reserved at first. But play Celine Dion’s “My Heart Will Go On” after a few glasses of wine and you’ll be in for a real treat. Might I add she started dating her fiancé in the 7th grade… Queue the: “Awwwwwww!!!”

As you can see, they’re all completely different, but beautiful in their own way. Mind you, this is just a few weeks of getting to know them –I may be TOTALLY off haha!! Hopefully by the end of the season I can give you an update, revealing my little family from Vienna in more detail… And maybe a completely different description from the one above!

My family doesn’t stop there. We also have four-legged members whom all happen to be insanely adorable and oh-so-lovable.

Meet Lenny (Brooke), Jax (Sam), Manny (Lauren), and Lilo (Britt).

photo-17

These guys make me miss my little rats so much. Hopefully Molly and Monique will be joining us in the near future!

photo-18

As for Pete and myself, we’ve been enjoying each other and this experience so much. Here’s a flattering photo of us in front of the Rathaus after a tasty meal.

photo-15

And here we are boating on the Old Danube or the “Alte Donau”, located on Vienna’s most modern district.

photo-19

What started off as a relaxing afternoon ended up turning into a sporting event as we viciously peddaled ourselves back to the dock, sweating in places we hadn’t anticipated. Next time we’re going electrical, lesson learned. Thanks, Danielle, for taking this awesome pic!

That’s all for now. Next time I’ll share with you my recent road trip with one of my best friends from childhood, La Chiquis! 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. What an awesome experience!…Interesting, beautiful and kind friends!…The city marvelous!…. and you and Peter a gorgeous couple in love! Thank you for sharing, can’t wait to hear about your trip with Chiquis!! Love you my sweet girl!!

  2. I am jealous (de la buena) of all your awesome adventures! 🙂 I love how you embrace and live the little moments in life to the fullest. 🙂 Loved the post!

Leave a comment